Tips and Tricks for Todays HomeMaker

Are You a Hungry Girl?

Posted on: May 11, 2010

Great Recipes,

Let’s face it, if you are over the age of 40, it seems like you are on a perpetual diet, it never ends..I keep telling myself  “I am eating healthy” but in reality,  ITS A DIET!

I was put on a “Healthy Diet” by my cardiologist, 2 years ago, to help with my skyrocketing blood pressure..it worked great in the first 5 months I shed 45 pounds and was at a normal BMI  without that much excercise.  Then…well…lets just say I slipped , gained it all back..

So when I returned, to my cardiologist, I was in the hot seat, to say the least..so I started back, but this time…even after following the same diet the weight refused to budge.  I was even walking, 1 or 2 miles a day…So forget just eating “Healthy” I had to do a drastic cut in calories..

A  DIET…1450 calories a day…now the scale is finally showing a decline.. Yea I was eating very healthy, but I like food, so I ate lots of healthy stuff..nothing processed, no sweets,  just fruits, vegetables, chicken and fish…but someone forgot to tell me healthy food has calories too{LOL}

Now I don’t know about you, but I have a sweet tooth,  and after 2 months of all this healthy food and not seeing the weight drop, I was depressed to say the least.  So I thought, if I could just have something sweet, to satisfy my hunger, maybe I wouldn’t be so inclined to eat so much healthy stuff…I mean after all you can only stand so many carrots, apples, and sweet potatoes…You might say…Linda the answer to that problem is   Just don’t eat so much of the healthy food cut back your portions…blah blah blah…yeah I could do that…but I would have been hungry…fat…and miserable...a very bad combination for a 40 some year old menopausal woman!!!

Now, I like easy, things to prepare…not something that is going to take forever in the kitchen…so I began looking for recipes, for easy things to prepare for a snack..that would satisfy that sweet tooth, and not destroy my 1450 calorie diet… I found tons of recipes for things…but…..you had to cook, bake..or they had over 250 calories and lots of fat….NO GOOD…a snack must be under 250 calories..

Then I found  Hungry Girl..cookbook, she also has a website…with a lot of good ideas and recipes…If you haven’t checked them out..do because I have prepared a lot of things from her book, and found them to be most tasty and satisfying.  A lot of her things call for sugar substitute splenda,  I use stevia,  I cannot tell the difference…   Most of her recipes are easy, easy easy.

  • Some of my favorite recipes are
  • Banana cream pie
  • vanillalicious cafe freeze(blended coffee drink,yum yum) apple cinnamon crunch  parfait, and coconut cream pie…

If you looking for something easy, and delicious, and satisfies that sweet tooth, these will do the trick…So all you Hungry Gals, check out her website for the recipes…stay skinny, stay happy..and lets all pretend   “WERE JUST EATING HEALTHY”

Oh yeah…Please don’t tell my cardiologist, I have traded eating the carrots with the sweet delicious apple cinnamon crunch parfait..As long as I loose weight.. she can still think I am one of those health nuts….yeah right….The way I see it, Life is short, I am going to enjoy it….I may have to diet to keep my blood pressure undercontrol..but I am going to still indulge something sweet,  and satisfying..

I do not want to give the wrong impression , this book if filled with healthy recipes from meat,to vegetable recipes…I am enjoying the dessert recipes  though…  there is a really sweet vegetable recipe that is full of fiber and omega’s 3     Mapelicious Butternut Squash..love it, one of my favorites…good with chickcen..yum yum

Leave a comment

Recent Comments